Countdown To The Coast

 

051

One week from today, I’ll be on the road with David, heading for one of my favorite places in the world – Topsail Island, North Carolina! Love going to the coast off-season… fewer people, cool weather perfect for marathon beach walks, cheaper lodging rates. This will be our first real vacation together in well over ten years, and I just can’t wait! Thanks, Ward and family for staying at our house to care for our menagerie. We couldn’t do it without you!

There’s only one fly in the sunscreen, so to speak: How on earth am I going to stay ketosis while on vacation??? We all know that everybody goes off their diet and gains weight on vacation, right? Well, I’m determined to be the exception to the rule. How? Here’s my plan…

 

(drumroll)

Intermittent Fasting!!!

Yes, I’m planning to eat only one meal a day. OK, I’ll be honest, I don’t think that’s going to be possible. More realistically, I will probably have one meal and one snack. I have no problem skipping breakfast, and for the past few weeks I’ve also been skipping lunch a couple/three days a week as well. It’s been surprisingly easy now that I’m securely in keto. So that leaves a big, fat-heavy, nutrient-dense, moderate-protein dinner at a nice restaurant every night. Since restaurants normally serve too-large portions, I can box up some leftovers for a bedtime snack (or breakfast/lunch/snack the next day). I also plan to bring fixin’s for bulletproof coffee (pastured butter, coconut oil) for mornings when I might feel a little hungry. Will I be able to stick to this plan? We’ll soon find out!

To get us in the mood, here are a few pictures I took the last time I was there, about 3 and a half years ago. (BTW, I’m sad to say that in the picture of me below, I was about 10 lbs lighter than I am now. Sigh.)

103

119

Sunrise on the Beach

124

Bailey the Diva  Dobie and Me

043

Surf City Pier

162

Storm Coming

 

149

Storm Here!

070

Sunset On The Sound Side

198

Leave a comment